Admin

Science

Chemistry Lab.png

New Town High School Science Department

The Science Department at New Town High School is committed to creating scientifically literate citizens by providing the fundamental principles that will lay a foundation upon which to build lifelong learning. It is our goal to inspire students to give serious consideration to careers in science based on their experiences in our classrooms.

In order to achieve this, standard, honors, and gifted and talented level courses in earth systems, chemistry, and physics are offered. Advanced Placement courses are offered in biology, chemistry, physics, and environmental science. New Town High School’s science department also offers courses in the nationwide Project Lead The Way Biomedical Program.

Our teachers are committed to the use of technology in science; therefore, it is an integral part of our classroom lab experience at New Town High School. Additionally, learning through observation and discovery is an essential process to the science experience. Labs are furnished with state of the art equipment and materials to accurately simulate laboratory experiments for investigation and active learning. All of our science classrooms are fully equipped, complete with individual computer stations. Students work with various software, graphical analysis programs, and “labpro” sensing devises that take measurements and transfer the data directly to the computers to be recorded, analyzed, and printed for evaluation. To further expand opportunities for learning, the department has two mobile laptop computer stations equipped with 15 laptops that facilitate the accommodation of a variety of possible learning environments.

Mission
The mission of the Office of Science PreK-12 is to work collaboratively with all stakeholder groups to define a vision for science education and to provide leadership for the development, implementation, and assessment of that vision for the Baltimore County Public Schools. These efforts are directed toward one goal—enhancing achievement for all students in science. Our teachers believe that all students can learn, and they recognize that learning is accomplished individually as well as in groups. To meet the needs of every student, the staff is committed to making science engaging, active, and relevant because they understand that the best way to learn is through personal discovery and scientific inquiry that is the hallmark of science instruction in Baltimore County Public Schools. Because it is also the goal to create lifelong learners, everyone works toward helping students develop an appreciation for the body of knowledge known as science and an understanding of how to apply it to everyday life.


Questions? Contact Mrs. Chanell Owens Johnson, Science Department Chair (cowens2@bcps.org)

 Wendy Bailey
 Juanita Burch  jburch3@bcps.org
 Becca Harris  rharris10@bcps.org
 Chris Martini  cmartini@bcps.org
 Chanell Owens  cowens2@bcps.org
 Nicole Powell  npowell2@bcps.org
 Taylor Ransome  transome@bcps.org
 Elissa Ross  eross@bcps.org
 Aiesha Trowers  atrowers@bcps.org