Admin

Social Studies

The Social Studies department at New Town High School is committed to creating scientifically literate citizens by providing the fundamental principles that will lay a foundation upon which to build lifelong learning. It is our goal to inspire students to give serious consideration to careers in the social sciences based on their experiences in our classrooms.

American Government

This course focuses on the three branches of the U.S. Government as well as public policy and the influence of the media. American Government is a full year course that satisfies 1 of the 3.5 social studies credits students must have to graduate. In addition, students must pass the Government HSA prior to graduation from New Town High School.

World History

This course focuses on cultures around the world from 1,000 A.D. to the modern era. Students will examine world religions, customs, traditions, and cultures. This course satisfies 1 of the 3.5 social studies credits needed to graduate.

U.S. History

This course picks up where students left off in eighth grade, at the end of the Civil War. Students examine American culture, policy, events, and people that shaped the United States for the last 150 years. This course satisfies 1 of the 3.5 social studies credits needed to graduate.

EPI

This course is an introduction to economics, both micro and macro. Students learn key information about the economy as a whole as well as one’s individual economy. Students complete a range of projects and activities that prepare them to handle their own finances as a young adult. This course satisfies.5 of the 3.5 social studies credits needed to graduate.

Psychology (.5 credit)

AP Psychology (1 credit)

Film and History (.5 credit)

History through Sports (.5 credit)

African American History (1 credit)

AP Human Geography (1 credit)

Advanced Placement social studies courses are scheduled whenever they are justified by enrollment. Students enrolled in Advanced Placement courses are eligible for GT credit. Each Advanced Placement course includes a study of major social science concepts, principles, and unifying themes, and includes the development of research skills.

Model United Nations

Model United Nations, also known as Model UN or MUN, is an extra-curricular activity in which students roleplay delegates to the United Nations and simulate UN committees. Delegates must act in the interest of their countries and work with other delegates to solve world problems.  This activity takes place at MUN conferences, which is usually organized by a high school or college MUN club. At the end of most conferences, outstanding delegates in each committee are recognized and given an award certificate. If you have questions about Model UN, please contact Ms. Lauren Bernstein (lbernstein2@bcps.org).


Questions? Contact Mr. Jeff O'Connor, Social Studies Department Chair (joconnor2@bcps.org)

 Tim Bangerd
Tim Bangerd
tbangerd@bcps.org 
 Lauren Bernstein Lauren Bernstein
lbernstein2@bcps.org
 Todd Dunn Todd Dunn
tdunn3@bcps.org
 Anjum Khan Anjum Khan
hkhan@bcps.org
 Kelsey Ermine Kelsey Ermine
kwirbicki@bcps.org
 Mary Grant Mary Grant
mgrant2@bcps.org
 Abigail Horah Abigail Horah
ahorah@bcps.org
 Molly Muller Molly Muller
mmuller@bcps.org
 Jeff O'Connor Jeff O'Connor, Department Chair
joconnor2@bcps.org
 Nick Ricks Nick Ricks
nricks@bcps.org
 Joe Willard Joe Willard
jwillard@bcps.org
 Rhoda Winfield Rhoda Winfield
rwinfield@bcps.org